AALC Board of Directors

By Michigan State Law, each public charter school operates as their own school district. The Ann Arbor Learning Community is run by a Board of Directors. Members of the AALC Board are appointed by the Eastern Michigan University Board of Regents. Interested individuals should apply to the EMU Charter Schools Office.

Current Board Members:
Larry Berg, President
Denne Lawton, Vice President
Nathanial Gleeton, Treasurer
Ann Owen, Secretary
Leah Davis, Member ​ ​ ​

To communicate with the Board, contact [email protected]

The Board is primarily responsible for financial oversight, strategy, insuring that all state and federal laws are followed, and supervising the School Leader. The Board meets at least once a month. The Board holds a regular meeting each month. They may call special meetings to conduct business in between or beyond the regular meetings. All meetings are open to the school community as well as the public. ​

Next Board Meeting

The Board will hold a virtual meeting on Tuesday, October 20, 2020 at 6:30 pm via Zoom. More details and meeting agenda to come later.

Ann Arbor Learning Community


4377 Textile Road
Ypsilanti, 48197, MI, US

About us

An independent charter school Kindergarten through Grade 12.

Follow us